Meet Children’s Picture Book Authors Shutta Crum and Nancy Shaw

Event date: 
Wednesday, June 3, 2015 - 7:00pm

Shutta Crum

Shutta Crum

Uh-Oh! Cover Image
By Shutta Crum, Patrice Barton (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780385752688
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - April 14th, 2015

A charming summer story that's just right for toddlers, from the team behind the critically acclaimed picture book Mine!
 
What does a toddler say when she drops her sunglasses in the sand? "Uh-Oh!"
What does she say when a seagull lands on her sandcastle? "Uh-Oh!"
What does she say when she finds a crab in her pail? "Uh-Oh!"
And what does she say when a BIG wave is coming?  That's the biggest "Uh-Oh!" of all!
 
This nearly wordless story of toddler adventure perfectly captures the dynamics between the youngest friends and the sheer pleasure of that favorite toddler word: Uh-Oh!


Sheep Go to Sleep (Sheep in a Jeep) Cover Image
By Nancy E. Shaw, Margot Apple (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544309890
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - May 5th, 2015

It's time for bed but the sheep just can't settle down. Never fear, a trusty sheepdog is here to help. What will it take to get these restless sheep to bed? A hug? A blanket? A drink of water? Will this dedicated collie ever get these bleating sheep to sleep? From the team behind the bestselling SHEEP IN A JEEP, this sweet and silly sleepytime tale is perfect for anyone putting a demanding little one to bed.


Event address: 
Westgate Shopping Center
2513 Jackson Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48103

Story Time with the Humane Society of Huron Valley with Adoptable Pet

Event date: 
Saturday, May 9, 2015 - 11:00am

 

Do you have a young child who loves animals? Then, bring your little ones to HSHV’s Little Paws story time program to have a paws-itively fun time! Designed for ages 2-5, this program will keep your tot engaged through stories, activities, crafts, and animal interactions! Come and join us for story time at Nicola’s the third Saturday of each month at 11am!

 

The Humane Society of Huron Valley was founded in 1896 and we are the only animal shelter in Washtenaw County that takes in all types of unwanted, injured, lost, stray, abandoned, and abused animals. Each year we help over 12,000 dogs, cats, rabbits, and other small animals. Come and join us to learn more about what we do to save animals in your community and teach your children about becoming responsible, compassionate futurepet caregivers. For more information on our youth programs, please visit us at hshv.org/youth.

Event address: 
2513 Jackson Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48103-3818

Matthew Baker (If You Find This)

Event date: 
Saturday, May 2, 2015 - 2:00pm

Meet Young Adult Michigan Author Matthew Baker (If You Find This)

Matthew Baker's stories have appeared in American Short Fiction, New England Review, The Kenyon Review,and Best of the Net, and been shortlisted in Best American Short Stories. He has held creative writing fellowships through the Fulbright Commission, the MacDowell Colony, and Vanderbilt University, among others. He was born and lives in Michigan. If You Find This is his first novel.

If You Find This Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780316240086
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 17th, 2015

Mixing mystery and adventure in the tradition of Louis Sachar, Avi, and E.L. Konigsburg, If You Find This is the story of unlikely friendships, unexpected bravery and eleven-year-old Nicholas Funes's quest to prove his grandfather's treasure is real.

Nicholas is a math and music genius with no friends and a huge problem: His father has lost his job, and they'll have to sell their house, which holds the only memory Nicholas has of his younger brother. Just in time, Nicholas's senile grandfather arrives, filled with tales of priceless treasure he has hidden somewhere in town--but where?

With the help of misfit classmates, two grandfathers, a ghosthouse, hidden messages, séances, and an uncanny mind for numbers, Nicholas stages a nursing home breakout, tangles with high schoolers in smugglers' tunnels, and gets swept up in a duel with the biggest bullies in the neighborhood. Will it be enough to find the treasure and save his house?


Event address: 
2513 Jackson Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48103-3818

David Fitzsimmons - Curious Critters: Marine

Event date: 
Saturday, May 2, 2015 - 11:00am

Meet Author & Photographer David Fitzsimmons (Curious Critters: Marine)


David Fitzsimmons

David FitzSimmons is a free-lance photographer and writer as well as a university professor. David photographs and writes for various magazines, including Outdoor Photographer, Popular Photography, and Shutterbug, newspapers, and online publications. His 100+ calendar credits include numerous titles by BrownTrout and Barnes & Noble. Dave currently is at work on a handful of books. His most recent books include Animals of Ohio's Ponds and Vernal Pools (Kent State University Press) and Curious Critters (Wild Iris, October 2011). One of five Sigma Pro photographers in North America, David presents seminars and workshops to a wide variety of audiences, from public school groups and college classes to nature centers and civic organizations. His works have been exhibited at the Roger Tory Peterson Institute, tte National Center for Nature Photography, and the Telluride Photo Festival, among other venues. David, a former high school English teacher, has been teaching for 20 years. He is a professor at Ashland University, Ashland, Ohio. He holds a Ph.D. in English from Ohio State University, with a specialty in narrative theory--investigating the components of storytelling--something that influences his photography and writing. Dave was inspired to photograph and write about nature by his parents, Mick and Judy FitzSimmons, active environmentalists and life-long teachers, and he is assisted in his natural history endeavors by his wife, Olivia, a naturalist, and his two daughters, Sarah and Phoebe. To see more of Dave's work and to know more about seminars and photo workshops, visit www.fitzsimmonsphotography.com.

Curious Critters Marine Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781936607723
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Wild Iris Publishing - April 2015

Curious Critters!

Explore the amazing, up-close worlds of common North American animals—from butterflies and birds to frogs and fish—with award-winning photographer and writer David FitzSimmons. With the help of the audience, David will perform parts of his “Curious Critters” picture books, including his newest title, “Curious Critters Marine.” Children will shriek like hawks, hop like toads, and swim like sea bass. Learn why spoonbills are pink and lobsters are sometimes blue. Discover what sea stars eat and how mammals fly. Show includes puppets and take-home activities for all children!

In his third Curious Critters book, FitzSimmons pairs breathtakingly detailed photographs of 20 aquatic creatures with offbeat accounts of the animalsa lives, which take the form of poems, songs, and first-person monologues. A translucent hooded nudibranch looks more mushroom than mollusk as the sea slug raves about its fashion sense (aFrom my sheer dress to my eye-catching hat, Iam nothing but flair and finessea); a starfish describes itself to the tune of aTwinkle, Twinkle, Little Stara (aTough and bendy is my skin./ Thatas my exoskeletona). From a wisecracking sea cucumber to a frogfish trying to hide its predatory nature, FitzSimmons offers a cheeky guide to the seaas odder denizens. Ages 3 and up.


Event address: 
2513 Jackson Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48103-3818

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Childrens Event