Bestselling fantasy author Tobias Buckell presents The Tangled Lands

Event date: 
Friday, April 20, 2018 - 7:00pm

Bestselling fantasy author Tobias Buckell presents The Tangled Lands

Meet Tobias Buckell, bestselling sci-fi author of Halo: The Cole Protocol and the Xenowealth series, as he talks about his newest fantasy novel, The Tangled Lands, co-written with Hugo Award-winning author Paolo Bacigalupi!

The Tangled Lands Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781481497299
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Saga Press - February 27th, 2018

From award-winning and New York Times bestselling authors Paolo Bacigalupi and Tobias Buckell comes a fantasy novel told in four parts about a land crippled by the use of magic, and a tyrant who is trying to rebuild an empire—unless the people find a way to resist.

Khaim, The Blue City, is the last remaining city in a crumbled empire that overly relied upon magic until it became toxic. It is run by a tyrant known as The Jolly Mayor and his devious right hand, the last archmage in the world. Together they try to collect all the magic for themselves so they can control the citizens of the city. But when their decadence reaches new heights and begins to destroy the environment, the people stage an uprising to stop them.
 


Event address: 
Westgate Shopping Center
2513 Jackson Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48103

Talk and Signing: The Detroit Neighborhood Guidebook

Event date: 
Saturday, April 14, 2018 - 4:00pm

Talk and Signing: The Detroit Neighborhood Guidebook

Join us for a panel presentation featuring contributors to The Detroit Neighborhood Guidebook. Edited by Aaron Foley, author of How to Live in Detroit Without Being a Jackass, the new release is a literary guide to Detroit, with essays by Zoe Villegas, Drew Philip, Hakeem Weatherspoon, Marsha Music, Ian Thibodeau, and dozens of other esteemed writers. The panel will feature Lakisha Dumas, Robert Fox, Vince Guerierri and Lori Tucker-Sullivan.

About the Editor

The Detroit Neighborhood Guidebook Cover Image
By Aaron Foley (Editor)
$20.00
ISBN: 9780998904139
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Belt Publishing - August 21st, 2017

Detroiters need to get to know their neighbors better. Wait — maybe that should be, Detroiters should get to know their neighborhoods better. It seems like everybody thinks they know the neighborhoods here, but because there are so many, the definitions become too broad, the characteristics become muddled, the stories become lost. Edited by Aaron Foley, and featuring essays by dozens of Detroit writers.


Event address: 
Westgate Shopping Center
2513 Jackson Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48103

Comics author/illustrator Tim Fielder presents Matty’s Rocket: Book One

Event date: 
Friday, March 2, 2018 - 7:00pm

Join us for a talk and signing with Tim Fielder, author and illustrator of the graphic novel collection, Matty’s Rocket: Book One! Matty’s Rocket was released to critical acclaim, with Pulitzer Prize winner Junot Díaz saying, "Fielder takes us on a fantastic, time-warping, genre-bending Afrofuturistic voyage to the final frontier and beyond ... Mattyʼs Rocket is just superb.”

About Matty’s Rocket: Book One

Matty's Rocket Issue 1 Cover Image
$4.99
ISBN: 9780996204606
Availability: Backordered
Published: Dieselfunk Studios - January 17th, 2015

Event address: 
Westgate Shopping Center
2513 Jackson Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48103

Detroit Free Press Sports Writer Keith Gave presents The Russian Five

Event date: 
Saturday, March 31, 2018 - 2:00pm

Detroit Free Press Sports Writer Keith Gave presents The Russian Five

The Russian Five: A Story of Espionage, Defection, Bribery and Courage Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781947165175
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gold Star Publishing - March 20th, 2018

Praise for The Russian Five
“Keith Gave, always a terrific reporter, had a front row seat to the most fascinating and colorful chapter of Red Wings history – the Russian Five. At times, he was smack in the middle of it, as an envoy, Russian-speaker and secret-keeper. No one could write this story with the detail, depth and understanding that Gave delivers. The result is a whirlwind story that is at times fantastical, gripping, emotional and even humorous. This book was a long time in the making, but well worth the wait.”

─Mitch Albom, columnist, Detroit Free Press

“The ultimate inside story”  – Doc Emrick, Hall of Fame broadcaster

“Part thriller, part memoir, part Russian fairytale come true, this is an important book”

– Dan Milstein, best-selling author and NHL player agent.

About The Russian Five

When the Detroit Red Wings were rebooting their franchise after more than two decades of relative futility, they knew the best place to find world-class players who could help turn things around more quickly were conscripted servants behind the Iron Curtain.

All they had to do then was make history by drafting them, then figure out how to get them out. That’s when the Wings turned to Keith Gave, the newsman whose clandestine mission to Helsinki, Finland, was the first phase of a of a years-long series of secret meetings from posh hotel rooms to remote forests around Europe to orchestrate their unlawful departures from the Soviet Union.

One defection created an international incident and made global headlines. Another player faked cancer, thanks to the Wings’ extravagant bribes to Russian doctors, including a big American car. Another player who wasn’t quite ready to leave yet felt like he was being kidnapped by an unscrupulous agent. Two others were outcast when they stood up publicly against the Soviet regime, winning their freedom to play in the NHL only after years of struggle.

They are the Russian Five: Sergei Fedorov, Viacheslav Fetisov, Vladimir Konstantinov, Vyacheslav Kozlov and Igor Larionov. Their individual stories read like pulse-pounding spy novels. The story that unfolded after they were brought together in Detroit by the masterful coach Scotty Bowman is unforgettable.


Event address: 
Westgate Shopping Center
2513 Jackson Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48103

Meet Andy Griffiths, NYT-Bestselling Author of The 78-Story Treehouse

Event date: 
Saturday, March 17, 2018 - 11:00am

Meet Andy Griffiths, NYT-Bestselling Author of The 78-Story Treehouse

The 78-Story Treehouse: Moo-vie Madness! (The Treehouse Books #6) Cover Image
By Andy Griffiths, Terry Denton (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781250104854
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Feiwel & Friends - March 13th, 2018

Andy and Terry live in a 78-story treehouse. (It used to be a 65-story treehouse, but they just keep building more levels ) It has a drive-thru car wash, a courtroom with a robot judge called Edward Gavelhead, a scribbletorium, a combining machine, an ALL-BALL sports stadium, a high-security potato chip storage facility, and an open-air movie theatre with a super-giant screen . . . which is a very useful thing to have now that Terry's going to be a big-shot movie star

After Andy gets cut out of the movie, he and Terry have a big fight and decide they don't want to be best friends anymore. But with a herd of sneaky spy cows out to steal all their story ideas, can Andy and Terry make up before it's too late?

Praise for the Treehouse series:

"Anarchic absurdity at its best. . . . Denton's manic cartooning captures every twist and turn in hilarious detail." --Publishers Weekly, starred review, on The 13-Story Treehouse

"Will appeal to fans of Jeff Kinney and Dav Pilkey. . . . The wonderfully random slapstick humor is tailor-made for reluctant readers. . . . A treat for all." --Booklist on The 13-Story Treehouse

"Twice the treehouse, twice the fun? You bet. . . . Denton's furiously scrawled line drawings milk the silly, gross-out gags for everything they're worth. Kids should be flipping pages faster than a pair of inflatable underpants can skyrocket the young heroes to safety." --Publishers Weekly, starred review, on The 26-Story Treehouse


Event address: 
Westgate Shopping Center
2513 Jackson Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48103

ABC's of Washtenaw Literacy Information Session

Event date: 
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 10:00am

ABC's of Washtenaw Literacy Information Session

Come and learn about volunteer options with Washtenaw Literacy! You can help change the world, one word at a time.  Please register if you plan to attend.  If you have any questions, feel free to contact us at info@washtenawliteracy.org.

Event address: 
Westgate Shopping Center
2513 Jackson Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48103

Jane Austen Book Club - The Jane Austen Project

Event date: 
Wednesday, March 7, 2018 - 7:00pm

Nicola’s Books Presents, Author Kathleen Flynn In Conversation with U of M RC Creative Writing Director Laura Thomas
The Jane Austen Project

Off-Site Jane Austen Book Club Discussion at AADL Main Branch- Associated event of the University of Michigan Graduate Library ‘The Life and Times of Lizzy Bennet’ Exhibit

The Jane Austen Project: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062651259
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - May 2nd, 2017

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.

London, 1815: Two travelers--Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane--arrive in a field in rural England, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. Turned away at a nearby inn, they are forced to travel by coach all night to London. They are not what they seem, but rather colleagues who have come back in time from a technologically advanced future, posing as wealthy West Indies planters--a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren't the first team from the future to "go back," their mission is by far the most audacious: meet, befriend, and steal from Jane Austen herself.

Carefully selected and rigorously trained by The Royal Institute for Special Topics in Physics, disaster-relief doctor Rachel and actor-turned-scholar Liam have little in common besides the extraordinary circumstances they find themselves in. Circumstances that call for Rachel to stifle her independent nature and let Liam take the lead as they infiltrate Austen's circle via her favorite brother, Henry.

But diagnosing Jane's fatal illness and obtaining an unpublished novel hinted at in her letters pose enough of a challenge without the continuous convolutions of living a lie. While her friendship with Jane deepens and her relationship with Liam grows complicated, Rachel fights to reconcile the woman she is with the proper lady nineteenth-century society expects her to be. As their portal to the future prepares to close, Rachel and Liam struggle with their directive to leave history intact and exactly as they found it...however heartbreaking that may prove. 


Event address: 
AADL
343 South Fifth Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - All Ages Event