Bob Downes

Event date: 
Monday, November 20, 2017 - 7:00pm

Bob Downes

Windigo Moon: A Novel of Native America Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781943075362
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Blank Slate Press - September 5th, 2017

The great love of Blue Heron and Red Bear sustain an Ojibwe clan as it struggles to survive war, famine, and the coming of foreign explorers bearing deadly diseases.  

The blood feud between two rival warriors over the love of Ashagi, a strong-willed woman of great beauty and greater determination threads through this story of one Ojibwe clan on the cusp of great change. A young woman from a peaceful village, Ashagi (Blue Heron) is abducted in a raid conducted by the Sioux, the ancestral enemies of her clan, and made a concubine of a fat, slovenly chief who already has two wives. When she is rescued by Misko (Red Bear), an Ojibwe youth, the two fall in love and a lifelong bond is formed. But Nika, Misko's rival, demands that Misko surrender Ashagi to replace his brother who was killed during a raid involving the young warriors' two clans. As Nika's pride and obsession with Ashagi eats away at his sanity, greater danger for the whole Ojibwe way of life creeps ever closer.

Warfare, vengeance, supernatural monsters, and strange spirits all claw at the edges of this love triangle, but the power of the clan and the love of family and tradition helps sustain a culture on the verge of harrowing times. Beginning in 1588 and spanning twenty-five years, WINDIGO MOON encompasses warring tribes of the Upper Great Lakes, the onset of the Little Ice Age of the 1600s, the diseases introduced by foreign explorers, and, always and forever, the great love of Blue Heron and Red Bear.

Meticulously researched and beautifully written, WINDIGO MOON will appeal to fans of Kathleen O'Neal Gear and W. Michael Gear, Jean Auel, Alexander Thom, Anna Lee Waldo, and other top authors of historical fiction.  


Event address: 
Westgate Shopping Center
2513 Jackson Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48103

Howard Markel

Event date: 
Sunday, November 12, 2017 - 1:00pm

Howard Markel

The Kelloggs: The Battling Brothers of Battle Creek Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780307907271
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pantheon Books - August 8th, 2017

From the much admired medical historian ("Markel shows just how compelling the medical history can be"--Andrea Barrett) and author of An Anatomy of Addiction ("Absorbing, vivid"--Sherwin Nuland, The New York Times Book Review, front page)--the story of America's empire builders: John and Will Kellogg. John Harvey Kellogg was one of America's most beloved physicians; a best-selling author, lecturer, and health-magazine publisher; founder of the Battle Creek Sanitarium; and patron saint of the pursuit of wellness. His youngest brother, Will, was the founder of the Battle Creek Toasted Corn Flake Company, which revolutionized the mass production of food and what we eat for breakfast. In The Kelloggs, Howard Markel tells the sweeping saga of these two extraordinary men, whose lifelong competition and enmity toward one another changed America's notion of health and wellness from the mid-nineteenth to the mid-twentieth centuries, and who helped change the course of American medicine, nutrition, wellness, and diet.  


Event address: 
Westgate Shopping Center
2513 Jackson Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48103

John Smolens

Event date: 
Wednesday, November 8, 2017 - 7:00pm

John Smolens

Cold Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781611862416
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Michigan State University Press - March 1st, 2017

Internationally acclaimed, Cold takes us deep into a harsh, frozen world, where love, greed, and the promise of a second chance compel six people toward a chilling and inevitable reckoning. In the frozen reaches of Michigan's Upper Peninsula, fierce winter storms hit without warning. The white opacity of one such blizzard allows Norman Haas to walk away from his prison work detail. Dangerously close to freezing to death, Norman is given shelter by Liesl Tiomenen, a middle-aged woman who lives in a house she and her late husband built in the woods. Armed with a rifle, she tries to turn him in, but when they set out on snowshoes, she suffers a fall, allowing him to flee again. Thus begins Norman's journey back to his past, back to the woman he loved who betrayed him, back to the brother who helped put him away, back to a dangerous web of family allegiances, deceptions, and intrigue. After finding Liesl injured and abandoned in the woods, Yellow Dog Township's sole full-time law enforcement officer Del Maki pursues Norman through a storm of mythic proportions.


Fire Point Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781611862423
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Michigan State University Press - June 1st, 2017

At nineteen, Hannah LeClaire already has a reputation in the village of Whitefish Harbor, in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. She is given to solitary walks along the shore of Lake Superior, and on a cold April day she meets Martin Reed, who has just moved north from Chicago to renovate a dilapidated house he has inherited. Hannah immediately realizes that Martin, who is ten years her senior, is also an outcast and quite unlike anyone she has ever met. A story of love, vengeance, and renewal, Fire Point depicts the young couple's attempt to rebuild their lives. But when Hannah's former boyfriend Sean Colby returns home after a mysterious early discharge from the army, he cannot accept the fact that she has a new lover and commits a series of increasingly violent acts against Hannah, Martin, and the house that has come to represent their future.  


The Invisible World Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781611862430
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Michigan State University Press - June 1st, 2017

The Invisible World portrays how a remarkable family is indelibly marred by one of the darkest conspiracy theories in American history: the gunman on the grassy knoll. Boston journalist Sam Adams suspects that his father may have been the unidentified gunman in the JFK assassination. True or not, Sam is certain that his father, the elusive John Adams, is responsible for his sister Abigail's tortured life of drugs, prostitution, and the conviction that she is a descendant of Salem witches, as well as the strange circumstances that surround his mother's final hours. After Sam's mother dies and is cremated, her ashes are stolen. Believing that his father is responsible, Sam pursues the man he has not seen in years. He discovers that he is not the only one searching for his father--federal agents, a disgraced politician, a retired Boston cop, and several journalists join the chase. "The Invisible World is more than a first-rate political thriller," says The Boston Globe. "It's an absorbing tale of alienation and loss, and the ramifications of a rootless, troubled family." What Sam Adams ultimately discovers is that the shadowy realm of conspiracies conjures a world of hidden truths and intrigue in which the familiar is the most mysterious force of all.  


Event address: 
Westgate Shopping Center
2513 Jackson Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48103

Offsite event: CNN’s Van Jones In Conversation w/WUOM's Zoe Clark - 'Beyond the Messy Truth'

Event date: 
Tuesday, October 17, 2017 - 7:30pm

TICKETED EVENT - Included in the ticket price is a signed copy of 'Beyond the Messy Truth' which will be distributed the night of the event

Click on the link below to purchase tickets

http://www.brownpapertickets.com/event/3090053

Event address: 
Rogel Ballroom, University of Michigan Union
530 S State St
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - All Ages Event