YA Authors Kelly Barson & Cori McCarthy

Charlotte Cuts It Out & You Were Here

Kelly Barson:

K.A. (Kelly) Barson earned her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She is the author of 45 Pounds (More or Less) and Charlotte Cuts It Out, both from Viking Children's, an imprint of Penguin Random House. She lives in Jackson with her husband, a pack of unruly designer dogs, and a cat named Karen. 

Cori McCarthy:

Cori McCarthy studied poetry and screenwriting before falling in love with writing for young adults at Vermont College of Fine Arts. She is the author of You Were Here, Breaking Sky, and The Color of Rain. Breaking Sky is in development at Sony Pictures to become a film, while You Were Here is a mixed format contemporary, including word art poetry and graphic novel chapters. Cori lives in western Michigan with her family.

Event date: 
Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Westgate Shopping Center
2513 Jackson Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Charlotte Cuts It Out Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780451468932
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - April 5th, 2016

Lydia and I were in eighth grade when we came up with our Grand Plan to go to cosmetology school and get jobs to build our clientele while we earned business degrees. Then we’d open our own salon . . .  

Now Charlotte and Lydia are juniors, in a Cosmetology Arts program where they’ll get on-the-job training and college credits at the same time. The Grand Plan is right on schedule.

Which means it’s time for Step Two: Win the Winter Style Showcase, where Cos Arts and Fashion Design teams team up to dazzle the judges with their skills.

Charlotte is sure that she and Lydia have it locked up—so sure, in fact, that she makes a life-changing bet with her mother, who wants her to give up cos for college.

And that’s when things start going off the rails.

As the clock ticks down to the night of the Showcase, Charlotte has her hands full. Design divas. Models who refuse to be styled. Unexpectedly stiff competition. And then, worst of all, Lydia—her BFF and Partner in Cos—turns out to have a slightly different Grand Plan . .

Like 45 Pounds (More or Less), K.A. Barson’s Charlotte Cuts it Out is a funny, relatable story set in the heart of the Midwest, just right for girls who have big dreams of their own.


You Were Here Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781492617044
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - March 1st, 2016

Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points of view combined with stunning illustrations.

Jaycee is about to accomplish what her older brother Jake couldn't: live past graduation.

Jaycee is dealing with her brother's death the only way she can by re-creating Jake's daredevil stunts. The ones that got him killed. She's not crazy, okay? She just doesn't have a whole lot of respect for staying alive.

Jaycee doesn't expect to have help on her insane quest to remember Jake. But she's joined by a group of unlikely friends all with their own reasons for completing the dares and their own brand of dysfunction: the uptight, ex-best friend, the heartbroken poet, the slacker with Peter Pan syndrome, and... Mik. He doesn't talk, but somehow still challenges Jayce to do the unthinkable-reveal the parts of herself that she buried with her brother.

Cori McCarthy's gripping narrative defies expectation, moving seamlessly from prose to graphic novel panels and word art poetry, perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, Jennier Niven, and Jandy Nelson. From the petrifying ruins of an insane asylum to the skeletal remains of the world's largest amusement park, You Were Here takes you on an unforgettable journey of friendship, heartbreak and inevitable change.


Teaser Image: 
Event Type: 
Teaser Title: 
YA Authors Kelly Barson & Cori McCarthy

YA Authors Kelly Barson & Cori McCarthy

Charlotte Cuts It Out & You Were Here

Kelly Barson:

K.A. (Kelly) Barson earned her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She is the author of 45 Pounds (More or Less) and Charlotte Cuts It Out, both from Viking Children's, an imprint of Penguin Random House. She lives in Jackson with her husband, a pack of unruly designer dogs, and a cat named Karen. 

Cori McCarthy:

Cori McCarthy studied poetry and screenwriting before falling in love with writing for young adults at Vermont College of Fine Arts. She is the author of You Were Here, Breaking Sky, and The Color of Rain. Breaking Sky is in development at Sony Pictures to become a film, while You Were Here is a mixed format contemporary, including word art poetry and graphic novel chapters. Cori lives in western Michigan with her family.

Charlotte Cuts It Out Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780451468932
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - April 5th, 2016

Lydia and I were in eighth grade when we came up with our Grand Plan to go to cosmetology school and get jobs to build our clientele while we earned business degrees. Then we’d open our own salon . . .  

Now Charlotte and Lydia are juniors, in a Cosmetology Arts program where they’ll get on-the-job training and college credits at the same time. The Grand Plan is right on schedule.

Which means it’s time for Step Two: Win the Winter Style Showcase, where Cos Arts and Fashion Design teams team up to dazzle the judges with their skills.

Charlotte is sure that she and Lydia have it locked up—so sure, in fact, that she makes a life-changing bet with her mother, who wants her to give up cos for college.

And that’s when things start going off the rails.

As the clock ticks down to the night of the Showcase, Charlotte has her hands full. Design divas. Models who refuse to be styled. Unexpectedly stiff competition. And then, worst of all, Lydia—her BFF and Partner in Cos—turns out to have a slightly different Grand Plan . .

Like 45 Pounds (More or Less), K.A. Barson’s Charlotte Cuts it Out is a funny, relatable story set in the heart of the Midwest, just right for girls who have big dreams of their own.


,
You Were Here Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781492617044
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - March 1st, 2016

Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points of view combined with stunning illustrations.

Jaycee is about to accomplish what her older brother Jake couldn't: live past graduation.

Jaycee is dealing with her brother's death the only way she can by re-creating Jake's daredevil stunts. The ones that got him killed. She's not crazy, okay? She just doesn't have a whole lot of respect for staying alive.

Jaycee doesn't expect to have help on her insane quest to remember Jake. But she's joined by a group of unlikely friends all with their own reasons for completing the dares and their own brand of dysfunction: the uptight, ex-best friend, the heartbroken poet, the slacker with Peter Pan syndrome, and... Mik. He doesn't talk, but somehow still challenges Jayce to do the unthinkable-reveal the parts of herself that she buried with her brother.

Cori McCarthy's gripping narrative defies expectation, moving seamlessly from prose to graphic novel panels and word art poetry, perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, Jennier Niven, and Jandy Nelson. From the petrifying ruins of an insane asylum to the skeletal remains of the world's largest amusement park, You Were Here takes you on an unforgettable journey of friendship, heartbreak and inevitable change.


May 19 2016 - 7:00pm
Event address:
Westgate Shopping Center
2513 Jackson Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48103