Bad Things Happen (Paperback)

$15.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 days

Description


"Witty, sophisticated, suspenseful and endless fun...the best first novel I've read this year." -Washington Post

"A hypnotically readable novel, with...dialog worthy of Elmore Leonard."--Douglas Preston

The man who calls himself David Loogan is hoping to escape a violent past by living a quiet, anonymous life in Ann Arbor, Michigan. But when he's hired as an editor at a mystery magazine, he is drawn into an affair with the sleek blond wife of the publisher, Tom Kristoll-a man who soon turns up dead.

Elizabeth Waishkey is the most talented detective in the Ann Arbor Police Department, but even she doesn't know if Loogan is a killer or an ally who might help her find the truth. As more deaths start mounting up-some of them echoing stories published in the magazine-it's up to Elizabeth to solve both the murders and the mystery of Loogan himself.

"Fans of Peter Abrahams and Scott Turow will find a lot to like."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

 

About the Author


Harry Dolan graduated from Colgate University, where he majored in philosophy and studied fiction-writing with the novelist Frederick Busch. He earned a master’s degree in philosophy from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and currently works as a freelance editor. He grew up in Rome, New York, and now lives in Ann Arbor, Michigan, with his partner Linda Randolph.

Product Details ISBN-10: 0425234401
ISBN-13: 9780425234402
Published: Berkley Trade, 06/16/2010
Pages: 352
Language: English
Recommended Reading Level Minimum Age: 18
Maximum Age: 17
Minimum Grade Level: College Freshman
Maximum Grade Level: 12th Grade