Staff Pick Logo
Nightborn Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


“A fear worse then winding up as dragon dinner gripped Karn.”  His good friend Thianna is missing and it is up to him to find her. Unfortunately, Karn has dark elves chasing him.  Will Karn find Thianna and the treasure she is looking for?  Will the dark elves get the treasure first? You’ll have to read it to find out!

I think the amount of fighting and the love for games in the book is amazing! It even comes with instructions on how to play the game they play throughout the book.  The game is called charioteers, and they play it to win information from people.  But Karn likes games, so he plays charioteers for fun also. It is based on racing in a hippodrome, which is a racing track for chariots.    

It is a good book, a little bit like The Percy Jackson series. It is definitely like the book “Thrones and Bones: Frostborn.”

I would recommend it if you like strategy and action.

Nathan likes to read adventure novels and dystopian fiction, as well as graphic novels. He enjoys playing on his baseball team and has competed in the Science Olympiad. He also plays the violin and would like to be a video game tester someday. He starts 5th grade this fall.

Two of Nathan's favorite books are "The Maze Runner," by James Dashner and "Loki's Wolves," by K.L. Armstrong

 

— Nathan - 5th Grade Nicola's Books Young Reader Review Board Member

Description


For fans of Lloyd Alexander and Brandon Mull comes Book 2 in the acclaimed Thrones and Bones fantasy-adventure trilogy that began with "Frostborn."
Karn Korlundsson is a gamer. "Not" a riddle solver. But in order to rescue his best friend, Thianna Frostborn, he will need to travel to the faraway city of Castlebriar (by wyvern), learn how to play a new board game called Charioteers (not a problem), decipher the Riddle of the Horn, and tangle with mysterious elves.
Meet Desstra. She's in training to join the Underhand the elite agents of the dark elves.When she crosses paths with Karn, she is not all that she appears to be.
Everyone is chasing after the horn of Osius, an ancient artifact with the power to change the world. The lengths to which Karn will go in the name of friendship will be sorely tested. Who knew that solving a riddle could be so deadly?
The novel includes instructions for playing the board game Charioteers.Visit ThronesandBones.com for additional games, maps, character profiles, and more

Praise for "Nightborn"
Anders presents a captivating world. "Kirkus Reviews"
A]n adventure story with good pacing, well-drawn characters, and engaging action scenes. "Booklist"
Praise for"Frostborn"
Future fans of Tolkien and George R. R. Martin can happily cut their serial-fantasy teeth on this first book of an eventual series. "Kirkus Reviews"
A fun, fast-paced, and highly enjoyable tale. Garth Nix, bestselling author of the Abhorsen trilogy
A powerful, fast-paced tale. . . . The setting is rich, the characters well-defined, and the danger ever-paramount. "Publishers Weekly," Starred
An excellent choice for readers new to the genre. The themes of staying true to oneself, teamwork, and individuality will resonate with readers. "School Library Journal"
The most delightful fantasy I have read in ages. . . . Put me on the waiting list for book two Amy Plum, international bestselling author of the Die for Me series.

About the Author


Lou Anders is the recipient of a Hugo Award for editing and a Chesley Award for art direction. He has published over 500 articles and stories on science fiction and fantasy television and literature. A prolific speaker, Anders regularly attends writing conventions around the country. He and his family reside in Birmingham, Alabama. You can visit Anders online at louanders.com and ThronesandBones.com, on Facebook, and on Twitter at @ThronesandBones.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780385390361
ISBN-10: 038539036X
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: July 14th, 2015
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: Thrones and Bones